Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

VIDEO: Check-in from Matt because we finally defined "corporate governance"!

TRANSCRIPT

Hey everybody, its Matt, it has been a couple of weeks since I checked in I am now COVID-free, thankfully. I'm here in Vancouver, British Columbia, and today is the day on Ground-Up Governance that we finally defined "corporate governance." It was somewhat arbitrarily sequenced. The rest of the words in the list, there was a really deliberate sort of increasing level of jargon, but there's no kind of perfect time to define corporate governance. And it's the headline, really, of Ground-Up Governance and "governance" is even in the name. It's the headline both literally, but also was the main sort of motivation behind me creating Ground-Up Governance in the first place, which was: it took me probably 16-17 years of my career working on corporate governance before I had a definition that I could say out loud in a really sort of pithy way that other people could understand and act on if they wanted to. And I've been starting to ask other people in my world, what their definition of corporate governance is, and I'm learning a couple of things. One, everyone has a different definition. And, two, even a lot of people who eat and sleep and breathe the subject have a really hard time saying out loud in a compelling way what corporate governance means to them. And we haven't even started talking about good governance yet. So tune into Ground-Up Governance to have a look, go to www.groundupgovernance.com. Read through our definition. See if it resonates with you. See how it makes you feel. Leave a comment, tell us if you completely disagree, that's completely fine. And let us know why. Right? The important thing to me here is that you have a definition. You don't have to have my definition. Think about what it means to you find a way to articulate it clearly to the people around you so that they can understand what you're talking about. And see if you can build a shared understanding in your organization or your community or your boardroom or whatever is appropriate so that you're all using the term to mean the same thing and can figure out what "good" looks like to you so that you're all pointing toward good in the same way. Anyway, stay in touch. I'm excited to hear what you have to say about corporate governance and what it means to you. And I'm completely open to standing ovations if you really liked my definition a lot. Thanks again for tuning in. See you soon.

0 Comments
Ground-Up Governance
Ground-Up Governance
Authors
Matt Fullbrook