1

VIDEO: What's that sound??

Answering a listener question about the instrument in the Sound-Up Governance theme
1

TRANSCRIPT

Hey, everyone! It's been a while since I did a video and I got inspired to do this one because I got a couple of questions from some folks who've been listening to Sound-Up Governance and asking me what the instrument is in the music because it sounds a little bit unusual. And in a second, you might realize that you kind of recognize it anyway. Anyway, what it is, it's a it's an eight string bass guitar, you might be able to tell that instead of there being four strings, all of the strings have another littler string right next to them. So it kind of like a mandolin or a 12-string guitar, or dulcimer or even a piano where it's got instead of one string, it's got several strings together that get struck or plucked at the same time. And these ones are an octave apart. So there it goes like this.

[MATT PLAYS EACH STRING INDIVIDUALLY]

So each one of these has a low string, and a high string.

[MATT SHOWS THAT THE TWO STRINGS IN EACH PAIR ARE TUNED AN OCTAVE APART]

pretty cool, right? There's actually a really famous song that I bet all of you have heard and you'll recognize right away what it sounds like it goes something like

[MATT STARTS PLAYING A SONG THAT WILL NOT BE NAMED]

cool, right? So the recording of that Sound-Up Governance theme, it's actually three different parts because it's really hard to play those big spaced chords together. So I think the first one goes something sounds something like

[MATT PLAYS FIRST CHORD FROM SOUND-UP GOVERNANCE THEME]

and I didn't actually play it like that I played it more like this.

[MATT PLAYS FIRST CHORD FROM SOUND-UP GOVERNANCE THEME]

Just on separate tracks and then mixed together again afterward. So anyway, I'm really interested in if you guys have questions about music or anything like that, I'd be totally, totally interested in doing videos like this even just for a couple of minutes at a time. Whether you are interested in some of the stuff you hear on Ground-Up Governance, or you just are music fans or musicians and you want to chat. I'm happy to do this kind of thing anytime...better than happy: I'm excited. I would love to talk about music and sorry for my kind of unkempt weekend appearance. It's just what I look like in real life.

1 Comment
Ground-Up Governance
Ground-Up Governance
Authors
Matt Fullbrook